BSN Standards

Continua Health Alliance


The Continua Health Alliance is an alliance of technology, medical device and health care companies aiming to make personal telehealth a reality through developing guidelines and standards to enable interoperabilities between systems and devices.




The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency, directly responsible to Congress. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.




ETSI is the standardisation body for Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) in the EU.





European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC) is a non-profit technical organization to prepare voluntary electrotechnical standards that help develop the Single European Market/European Economic Area for electrical and electronic goods and services removing barriers to trade, creating new markets and cutting compliance costs.





European Committee for Standardization (CEN) is the standardisation organisation for the EU which reviews and approves EU standards. 


European Standards Organisations

The New Approach Standardisation provides the information on the standardisation process in the EU.  It provides access to information on standards and routes into the standardisation process, irrespective of which of the three European Standards Organisations is responsible for the standards




British Standards is the National Standards Body of the UK, responsible for facilitating, drafting, publishing and marketing British Standards and other guidelines. With collaborative ventures and a strong national and international profile, British Standards is at the heart of the world of standardization. British Standards provides UK industry and other stakeholders with their major access to and influence on standardization, both in the European arena (with CEN, CENELEC and ETSI) and internationally (with ISO and IEC). 

ISO/IEEE 11073-30300:2004

The Point of Care Medical Device Standards which are the communication standards to address interoperability for medical devices.

Health Level Seven
 Health Level Seven is a Standards Developing Organisations (SDO) which develops standards for the exchange, management and integration of data that support clinical patient care and the management, delivery and evaluation of healthcare service